Postdoctoral Researchers

Christina Thompson
Senior Lecturer in Chemistry
Christina got her undergraduate degree in Chemistry at Texas A&M in 2002. From there she went to the University of Illinois-Urbana Champaign where she worked with Paul Hergenrother on the total synthesis of Dykellic Acid, and it’s biological properties. She received her PhD in chemistry in November of 2008 and went to work as a medicinal chemist at Abbott Laboratories in Chicago, where she worked for four years on a variety of small molecule pharmaceutical projects. In July of 2012 Christina moved to Dallas and joined the Smaldone lab as a post-doctoral fellow working on porous polymers for energy applications.
Sampath Alahakoon

Sampath obtained his B.Sc. special degree in Chemistry from the University of Peradeniya, Sri Lanka in 2012. He moved to UT Dallas in 2013 and worked with Prof. Ronald Smaldone on developing new strategies in improving materials quality of 2D organic polymers. He received his PhD in Chemistry in August 2018 and due to his eagerness in materials development he started working as a Postdoctoral Scientist in the Smaldone lab. His current focus is on the development of new crystalline organic polymer materials stabilized via hydrogen bonding interactions. 

Graduate Students

Danielle Berry
Danielle received her B.S in Chemistry from the State University of New York College of Environmental Science and Forestry. Before arriving at UTD, Danielle worked as an Industrial Hygiene Technician evaluating and mitigating occupational hazards for a number of large manufacturing clients. Danielle is working on synthesizing soft polymers for 3D printing.
Alejandra Durand Silva
Alejandra comes from Mexico City, where she obtained her B.S. in Pharmaceutical and Biological Chemistry at La Salle University. After having previously taken part in the Mexico-UTD Summer Research Program, she is back at UTD in pursuit of her PhD. With support from the CONACYT scholarship, she hopes to utilize Dynamic Covalent Chemistry in the synthesis of materials for 3D printing applications.
Whitney Ong
Whitney was born and raised in Malaysia. She received her B.S. degree in Chemistry and a minor in Coatings and Polymeric Materials from North Dakota State University in 2017. Her undergraduate research experiences include STEM education, computational chemistry and polymer synthesis. In fall 2017, she joined the Smaldone lab as a joint student and her research focuses on porous materials for anion sensing devices. She enjoys eating and trying out new activities during her free time.
Shashini Diwakara
Shashini received her B.Sc. special degree in Chemistry from the University of Peradeniya, Sri Lanka. In the Fall of 2017, she joined the Smaldone lab. She is working on the design and synthesis of functional covalent organic frameworks.
Ashele Remy

Born and raised in the beautiful Caribbean island of St. Lucia, Ashele came to the US to obtain her BS in Biology and Chemistry.  She studied at Midwestern State University in Wichita Falls. After graduating in 2015, she was a Biology high school teacher and then worked in a small pharmaceutical lab in Austin.  Ashele joined the Smaldone lab in Fall 2018 working in the 3D printing group.  In her free time, she enjoys exploring the outdoors and biking.

Sachini Perera

Sachini was born and raised in Sri Lanka. She received her B.Sc. special degree in Chemistry from the University of Peradeniya in Sri Lanka and joined Smaldone lab in Fall 2018. Currently she is working on synthesizing 3D printable polymer materials utilizing Diels-alder chemistry. In her free time she enjoys listening to music, reading and baking.

Tahmid Faisal

Tahmid was born in Bangladesh. He received his Bachelor in Pharmacy (B.Pharm) and Master in Pharmaceutical Chemistry (M.Pharm) degree from the University of Dhaka, Bangladesh. Then he joined Beximco Pharmaceutical company as a Validation executive. Later on, he joined as a lecturer in pharmacy department in Southeast University Bangladesh. He moved to UT Dallas in Fall 2018 to pursue his PhD and joined the Smaldone group. Now he is working in 3D printed microneedles drug delivery system. He likes to eat and chat with friends. 

Karen Cortes
Karen Cortes Guzman was born and raised in Mexico. She got her Bachelor of Science in Industrial Chemistry from the Autonomous University of the State of Morelos in 2018. During and after her BS, she worked as a sales representative for a laboratory supply company, and as a research assistant in the CONACyT-SNI program. She was part of the UT Dallas-Mexico Summer Research Program 2018 and joined the Smaldone Lab in fall 2019, currently being supported by a CONACyT scholarship. She is an environmental enthusiast and hopes to direct her research to develop environmentally friendly materials for 3D printing.
Qing Yan
Qing Yan was born and raised in China. He got his B.Sc. degree in Chemistry from Northeast Forestry University in China. In Fall of 2019, he joined Smaldone lab and currently he is interested in 3D-printing polymer and hydrogels for drug delivery. In his free time, he likes listening to music and reading.
Sam Boardman
Ai Nguyen

Undergraduate Students

Lisa Geeding-Douglas
Lane Hughes
Allison Rood
Rebecca Johnson
Jay Shah
Daniel Grinffiel
Timothy Shyu
Robert Gearhart
Marissa Sparacin
Eric Sturdivant

High School Students

Smaldone Group Alumni


Dr. Sumudu Wijenayake,  Senior Lecturer, UT Dallas

Graduate Students

Yinhuan Xie (M.S. 2015)
Joshua Davidson (M.S. 2016, Manner Polymer)
Victoria Cameron (M.S. 2016)
Fei Li
Arosha Karunathilake (PhD, 2017, University of Kent, Lecturer)
Gayan Appuhamillage (PhD, 2018, Virginia Tech, Post-doc)

Undergraduate Students

Obada Alfarawati (UT Medical Branch, Galveston TX)
Atef Kokash
Raziel Martinez (Dr. Pepper)
Linda Asiamah
Taylor Kornfuehrer (UT Austin)
Zach Tran
Mohammed Jahangiri
Aditya Rajan
Abdullah Chahine
Cathy Nguyen
Dorothy Nguyen (UC Santa Cruz)
Anna Maleug
Greg Berumen (Tufts)
Salwa Awan
Sharada Menon
Amy Nguyen (Adaptive 3D Technologies)
Quang To
Danny Do
Gino Occhialini (MIT)
Ethan Payne
John Christopher Reagan
Ivana Le
Nicole Dion
Paola Lopez
John Harman
Jacqueline Trevizo
Brisa Diaz
Paul Luong
Sharon Amole

High School Students

Joshua Yue (Yale)
Ashwin Hari (Caltech)
Anjali Sridharan (Duke)
Megha Vyakaranam